In Whitlock v. Provident Life and Accident Insurance Company, No. 25-cv-0964-AGS-VET (S.D. Cal. Sept. 30, 2026), the Southern District of California confronted a recurring question for anyone with an employer-offered supplemental disability policy: when does ERISA control, even for coverage the employee pays for herself? On cross-motions for judgment under Rule 52, the court held that ERISA governed Plaintiff’s individual “top-up” disability policy, that the policy did not qualify for ERISA’s safe harbor, and that Plaintiff had not carried her burden of proving partial disability. The court granted judgment for the insurer and dismissed Plaintiff’s alternative state-law claims as preempted.
What was the dispute about?
Plaintiff participated in a voluntary “top-up” disability program her employer, Lockton, offered to supplement its welfare benefits. The program was funded through individual disability policies issued by Provident Life and Accident Insurance Company and its parent, Unum Group, with premiums deducted from her paycheck. After leaving Lockton, Plaintiff kept the coverage and paid premiums herself while retaining the discount Lockton had negotiated. In January 2021 she was diagnosed with generalized anxiety disorder and major depressive disorder, single episode, mild. Her psychiatrist initially recommended no more than 40 hours per week, then no more than 32. She reduced her hours at her then-employer, HUB, took a corresponding pay cut, and filed a disability claim alleging a May 1, 2021 onset date. Provident denied the claim, and after her appeal failed she sued.
Does ERISA govern a supplemental disability policy purchased through an employer?
Yes. The court explained that in the Ninth Circuit an employer can establish an ERISA plan “rather easily,” and that courts weigh the depth of the employer’s negotiations with the insurer and the administrative responsibility it assumed. Citing Steigleman v. Symetra Life Insurance Co. and Kanne v. Connecticut General Life Insurance Co., the court acknowledged that the bare purchase of insurance does not create an ERISA plan, but found Lockton had done far more. Lockton negotiated a 30% premium discount, offered the coverage alongside its broader welfare plan, and handled enrollment and payroll functions. The court noted that negotiating such discounts alone likely falls within ERISA’s scope, and that Lockton filed a Form 5500 and a Summary Annual Report, defeating Plaintiff’s argument that the policy had been retroactively treated as an ERISA plan. ERISA therefore applied and preempted state law.
Why didn’t ERISA’s “safe harbor” exemption apply?
Plaintiff argued the policy fell within the safe harbor regulation at 29 C.F.R. § 2510.3-1(j), which exempts certain voluntary group-type programs. Applying Pacificare Inc. v. Martin, the court explained that a plan failing any one of the four safe-harbor prongs cannot escape ERISA, and this policy failed two. On endorsement, the court applied Johnson v. Watts Regulator Co. and found that an objectively reasonable employee would conclude Lockton had done more than make the plan available, because Lockton negotiated reduced rates and presented the coverage as part of its own benefit package. On consideration, Lockton’s own Form 5500 identified it as the recipient of commissions and fees, which defeated the exemption outright. The court distinguished Koo v. Unum Group, where the employer expressly disclaimed sponsorship, received no consideration, and produced no plan documents or Form 5500s.
Did the insurer’s use of the wrong disability standard matter?
Plaintiff argued that Provident evaluated her under a total disability standard rather than the partial disability framework she sought, an error she called dispositive. The court agreed the initial denial referenced the wrong categories but held the error did not change the outcome. The reviewing physicians were never given the policy provisions and instead assessed functional capacity, so they applied no policy-specific standard, and the final appeal decision expressly analyzed her claim under the partial disability definition. The court added that under Abatie v. Alta Health & Life Insurance Co., even flagrant procedural violations do not automatically reverse a denial; they trigger de novo review, which the court was already applying.
What standard of review applied, and who bore the burden?
Although Lockton’s overarching welfare plan granted the administrator discretionary authority, the long-term disability policy itself contained no such language. Presuming the disability policy severable from the broader plan, the court applied the default de novo standard from Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch. Under Muniz v. Amec Construction Management, Inc., the burden on de novo review rests on the claimant.
Why did the court deny the disability benefits claim?
Plaintiff showed a salary reduction of more than 20%, satisfying the policy’s loss-of-earnings element, but offered little evidence on the remaining requirements and largely declined to brief why she met them, focusing instead on whether ERISA applied. The court nonetheless reviewed the full record. It found her treating psychiatrist categorized her risk level as low or minimal and noted improvement after she left HUB, and that a reviewing psychiatrist, Dr. Brown, concluded occupational restrictions and limitations were not supported. Both doctors agreed her condition worsened with situational stressors, which the court found devastating to her case, because symptoms caused by situational stressors are typically not disabling. Citing Jordan v. Northrop Grumman Corp. Welfare Benefit Plan, the court reiterated that a diagnosis alone does not establish disability. Decisively, while Plaintiff reduced her workload at HUB, she maintained and then increased her work at her own company at 32 to 40 hours per week, so she had not shown she was unable to perform the material and substantial acts of her usual occupation. The court granted judgment for Provident on the sole remaining ERISA claim.
*Please note that this blog is a summary of a reported legal decision and does not constitute legal advice. This blog has not been updated to note any subsequent change in status, including whether a decision is reconsidered or vacated. The case above was handled by other law firms, but if you have questions about how the developing law impacts your ERISA benefit claim, the attorneys at Roberts Disability Law, P.C. may be able to advise you so please contact us.

LEAVE YOUR MESSAGE
We know how to get your insurance claim paid. Call today at:
(510) 230-2090