×
≡Menu
Search
Home > Blog > Blog > Long Term Disability > The Job Matters: California Court Awards ERISA Long-Term Disability Benefits After MetLife’s Paper Reviewers Ignored a Scientist’s Cognitive Demands

The Job Matters: California Court Awards ERISA Long-Term Disability Benefits After MetLife’s Paper Reviewers Ignored a Scientist’s Cognitive Demands

In Wong v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, No. 25-cv-10274-PCP, 2026 WL 3138805 (N.D. Cal. Oct. 20, 2026), United States District Judge P. Casey Pitts granted Plaintiff’s motion for judgment and denied MetLife’s competing motion under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52, awarding long-term disability benefits under an ERISA-governed welfare benefits plan. Reviewing the denial de novo, the court found that Plaintiff proved by a preponderance of the evidence that her anxiety, depression, and cognitive difficulties left her unable to perform her own occupation as a research scientist beginning November 8, 2023.

What standard of review applied, and who carried the burden?

The parties agreed the court would review MetLife’s denial de novo, the standard that applies under Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch when an ERISA plan does not grant the administrator discretionary authority. On de novo review, the court gives no deference to the administrator and decides for itself whether the plan correctly denied benefits, conducting what amounts to a bench trial on the administrative record. Plaintiff, not MetLife, bore the burden and had to prove entitlement by a preponderance of the evidence. The court also observed a limit from Collier v. Lincoln Life Assurance Co. of Boston: it could weigh only the rationales MetLife actually relied on in denying the claim, not new ones raised later.

How did the ERISA plan define disability?

The plan’s definition was occupation-specific. To qualify, Plaintiff had to be unable to perform with reasonable continuity the “Substantial and Material Acts” necessary to perform her “Usual Occupation” in the usual and customary way as a result of sickness or injury. The plan defined “Usual Occupation” as the occupation Plaintiff was regularly performing when the disability began. As the court emphasized, that meant Plaintiff qualified if she could not perform her own occupation, even if she remained able to work in some other capacity or field. This own-occupation framing shaped the rest of the analysis.

Why did the court credit Plaintiff’s providers over MetLife’s paper reviewers?

Every practitioner who actually interacted with Plaintiff concluded she could not work. Her primary care physician, Dr. Gabriel Young, diagnosed major depressive disorder, panic attacks, anxiety-hysteria, and insomnia, and pulled her from work. Her treating psychiatric nurse practitioner, NP Nima Lal, diagnosed generalized anxiety disorder and major depressive disorder, documented severe anxiety and moderate depression, treated her two to three times a month for a year, and consistently opined that returning to work would only worsen her condition. MetLife’s two LTD reviewers, Dr. Jess Ghannam and Dr. Elbert Richardson, by contrast, performed only a record review and never examined Plaintiff. Citing Montour v. Hartford Life & Accident Insurance Co. and Demer v. IBM Corp. LTD Plan, the court explained that a “pure paper” review raises questions about the thoroughness of a benefits determination, and that discounting a claimant’s mental functioning is particularly troubling when the reviewer has never met the claimant. Given the subjective nature of Plaintiff’s conditions, the court found the examining providers more persuasive.

Why were the cognitive demands of Plaintiff’s occupation decisive?

Plaintiff worked as a scientist on cancer research and cell therapy drug products, a role the record described as demanding four to eight hours of uninterrupted focus, zero tolerance for error, and sustained concentration, emotional regulation, and cognitive stamina. Relying on Demer v. IBM Corp. LTD Plan, the court held that whether a job requires higher levels of mental functioning is relevant to disability, and that even a moderate hindrance to Plaintiff’s cognition could interfere with this kind of work. MetLife’s reviewers never grappled with those demands. They instead assessed whether Plaintiff was disabled from any work at all, observing that she was not suicidal and had not been hospitalized, observations the court found largely beside the point. Because MetLife offered no medical opinion that specifically considered whether Plaintiff could work as a scientist, it had almost nothing to rebut her providers.

Did the absence of objective testing defeat the claim?

No. The court held that MetLife was not entitled to fully discredit Plaintiff’s subjective reports of anxiety, depression, and impaired cognition simply because they lacked objective confirmation, citing Demer v. IBM Corp. LTD Plan and James v. AT&T West Disability Benefits Program. Some testing did corroborate her symptoms: she consistently scored for severe anxiety on a standardized measure across many months. Although Plaintiff did not submit neuropsychological testing of her memory and cognition, the court stressed that MetLife never asked for it, so its absence did not undermine her documented reports.

What role did MetLife’s own short-term disability award play?

MetLife had awarded Plaintiff short-term disability benefits for a later period, and one of its own STD reviewers, psychiatric specialist Lorelie Nixon, interviewed Plaintiff by phone and video and concluded she was impaired in expressing information verbally and in writing and in sustaining concentration and focus. The court declined to treat the STD award as creating a presumption of entitlement to LTD benefits, noting there was no evidence the two coverages shared the same definition of disability and that the claims covered different periods. It nonetheless credited Nixon’s conclusions as additional evidence in Plaintiff’s favor, precisely because Nixon, unlike the LTD reviewers, had actually examined her.

How did the court dispose of MetLife’s remaining arguments?

The court rejected all three. That Plaintiff sometimes reported feeling “okay” and was occasionally noted as “intact” and “attentive” showed only that she was not completely disabled, which was not the plan’s standard. MetLife’s theory that Plaintiff’s impairments were tied specifically to bullying at her employer, so that she could work elsewhere, found no support in a record that discussed her cognitive difficulties generally. And MetLife’s causation argument, that her conditions stemmed from workplace harassment rather than a covered “sickness or injury,” misread a plan that imposed no restriction on covered conditions triggered by other events. Having found Plaintiff entitled to benefits on the administrative record alone, the court denied as moot her motion to admit a workers’ compensation medical report from outside the record and directed the parties to meet and confer on the amount of the award.

SHARE THIS POST:

facebook twitter shop

*Please note that this blog is a summary of a reported legal decision and does not constitute legal advice. This blog has not been updated to note any subsequent change in status, including whether a decision is reconsidered or vacated. The case above was handled by other law firms, but if you have questions about how the developing law impacts your ERISA benefit claim, the attorneys at Roberts Disability Law, P.C. may be able to advise you so please contact us.

Get The Help You Need Today

Inner form image

LEAVE YOUR MESSAGE

Contact Us

We know how to get your insurance claim paid. Call today at:
(510) 230-2090

Close Popup